This record appears to have gone missing from its original source.

The following details are what we have on file. If you are the owner of this record, please contact us to have it restored.

Please note that compared to the original source the content below may be incomplete and differently formatted.

William McMahon - Australia's PMs - Australia's Prime Ministers

Home > Australia's PMs > William McMahon William McMahon William McMahon was Prime Minister from 1971 to 1972. He was first elected to parliament in 1949, and held the seat of Lowe, in Sydney, for 33 years until his retirement in 1982. In his only election as Prime Minister, William McMahon faces the voters at Box Hill, Victoria in November 1972.NAA: A6180, 5/12/72/10 McMahon served as Minister for Primary Industry (1956–58) and Minister for Labour and National Service (1958–66) in the government of Robert Menzies, as Treasurer (1966–69) in the governments of Harold Holt, John McEwen and John Gorton, and as Minister for External Affairs (1969–71) in the Gorton government. Back to top


National Archives of Australia


National Archives of Australia Prime ministers' records